​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Each country that is a signatory to the Antarctic Treaty 1959 normally establishes a National Antarctic Program, which has national responsibility for managing the support of scientific research in the Antarctic Treaty Area on behalf of its government and in the spirit of the Antarctic Treaty. COMNAP currently brings together the National Antarctic Programs of 29 countries from all around the world.

COMNAP Member National Antarctic Programs

Direccion Nacional Del Antartico (DNA)

Australian Antarctic Division (AAD)

Belgium Polar Secretariat

Programa Antartico Brasileiro  (PROANTAR)

Bulgarian Antarctic Institute (BAI)​​

Instituto Antartico Chileno (INACH)

Chinese Arctic and Antarctic Administration (CAA) & Polar Research Institute of China (PRIC)

Czech Republic
Masaryk University​

Instituto Antartico Ecuatoriano (INEA)

Finnish Antarctic Research Program at the Finnish Meteorological Institute (FINNARP)

Institut Polaire Francais Paul Emile Victor (IPEV)

Alfred Wegener Institute (AWI)

National Centre for Antarctic & Ocean Research (NCAOR)

Programma Nazionale Di Ricerche in Antartide (PNRA)

National Institute of Polar Research (NIPR)

Republic of Korea

Korean Polar Research Institute (KOPRI)

The Netherlands
Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO)

New Zealand
Antarctica New Zealand

Norwegian Polar Institute

Division of Antarctic Affairs​

Polish Academy of Sciences Department of Biology

Russian Federation
The Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute (AARI/RAE)

South Africa
South African National Antarctic Programme (SANAP)

Comite Polar Espanol

Swedish Polar Research Secretariat

United Kingdom
British Antarctic Survey (BAS)

National Antarctic Scientific Centre of Ukraine (NASC)

Antartico Uruguayo (IAU)

United States
National Science Foundation Division of Polar Programs


Antarctic Facilities

The COMNAP National Antarctic Programs operate a range of facilities in the Antarctic Treaty area in support of their scientific programs. A list of the main facilities and sites is available as an Excel file here: Antarctic_Facilities_List_13Feb2014.xlsAntarctic_Facilities_List_13Feb2014.xls

Or as a HTML document here: Antarctic_Facilities_List_13Feb2014.htmAntarctic_Facilities_List_13Feb2014.htm


 Upcoming Events

The Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting 2014 (ATCM XXXVII) and Committee for Environmental Protection meeting 2014 (CEP XXVII) will be held in Brasilia, Brasil, on 28 April - 7 May 2014.
More Information: http://www.ats.aq
SCAR Open Science Conference, Auckland, New Zealand, 25-28 August 2014
The SCAR Open Science Conference (OSC) 2014 will focus on Global Messages from Antarctica. To register for the OSC and for further information please visit the SCAR OSC website.
More Information: http://www.scar2014.com
COMNAP Symposium 2014
The COMNAP Symposium 2014 will be held on Monday 25 August 2014, after the opening plenary session of the SCAR Open Science Conference in Auckland, New Zealand. The theme for this year's Symposium is "Success through International Co-operation". All COMNAP delegates and any person registered for the SCAR OSC may also register and attend the Symposium.
More Information: Symposium
COMNAP AGM 2014, Christchurch, New Zealand, 27 - 29 August 2014
The COMNAP Annual General Meeting (AGM XXVI) 2014 will be held in Christchurch, New Zealand, on Wednesday 27 August through Friday 29 August 2014. Registration for COMNAP delegates for the COMNAP AGM is now open at the members-only area of the COMNAP website.
More Information: COMNAP AGM XXVI
COMNAP Wastewater Workshop, Christchurch, New Zealand, 28 August 2014
The COMNAP Wastewater Workshop (half day) will be held on 28 August 2014. Further information will be made available soon.
1 - 5Next