​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Expert Groups

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Expert Groups (Topics)

An important and valuable aspect of COMNAP is to allow exchange of information between National Antarctic Program staff on a range of relevant Topics. This is done by way of our Expert Groups.

Exchange of information on each Topic is coordinated and supported by a nominated “Expert Group Leader” and done through a dedicated mailing list and Workspace on the COMNAP web site. Each Expert Group Leader is overseen and supported by a designated EXCOM member.

​Current Expert Groups (Topics)

Air Operations (includes RPA-WG)
Expert Group Leader: ​​​Paul Sheppard
Oversight EXCOM member:Charlton Clark & Patricia Ortúzar

Environmental Protection​
Expert Group Leader: ​Ceisha Poirot​
Oversight EXCOM member: Patricia Ortúzar & Gen Hashida

Expert Group Leader: ​​​Simon Trotter
Oversight EXCOM member:Pavel Kapler & Dragomir Mateev

Marine Platforms​
Expert Group Leader: ​Miguel Ojeda
Oversight EXCOM member: ​​Gen Hashida & Charlton Clark​

Advancing Critical Technologies​
Expert Group Co-Leaders: ​Özgün Oktar and Mike Rose
Oversight EXCOM member:Pavel Kapler

Joint Expert Group on Human Biology and Medicine (JEGHBM)​
Expert Group Leader: Anne Hicks
Oversight EXCOM member:
​Antonio Quesada & Michelle Rogan-Finnemore

Science​ Facilitation​
Expert Group Leader: Robb Clifton
Oversight EXCOM member: ​
​Antonio Quesada​

Education, Outreach & Training
Expert Group Leader: TBC
Oversight EXCOM member:
Dragomir Mateev​