​​​​COMNAP's Members are the government National Antarctic Programs of 30 countries which are Consultaive State Parties or are non-Consulative State Parties but their countries have agreed to the Antarctic Treaty and the Environmental Protocol. There are also six Observer National Antarctic Programs.

This webpage provides public access to information on the Antarctic facilities operated by those 30 COMNAP Member National Antarctic Programs in several ways.  

- First, by way of the GIS interface below-just select any area of the Antarctic graphic and the GIS will open.  You can then choose any "dot" to get information on that Antarctic facility.

-Second, you can browse the COMNAP_Antarctic_Station_Catalogue.pdf.

- Finally, you can find information on the structure and adminstration of the National Antarctic Programs themselves by selecting a National Antarctic Program Member link down the right side column of this page.

COMNAP Antarctic Facilities Information and Map

The COMNAP National Antarctic Programs operate a range of facilities in the Antarctic Treaty area in support of their scientific programs. A Web-based map of the main facilities, their locations and related data is available on-line here (or select any area on the map)​:

Choose any dot on the map above to see information on that particular facility, in many cases the information includes a facility photograph and a link to a facility webcam.  The yellow dots indicate year-round facilities.  The red dots indicate seasonal facilities.  

For this COMNAP Antarctic facilities project, COMNAP collaborated with the EU-PolarNet (http://www.eu-polarnet.eu/) on their European Polar Infrastructures Project.  As part of that project, COMNAP worked through Yves Frenot (who was at the time of the project a COMNAP Vice Chairman) co-task leader from IPEV, who worked with Gonçalo Vieira, co-task leader Instituto Geografia e Ordenamento do Territorio (IGOT) at the University of Lisbon. Other contributors to the project from IGOT were Luis Encalada and Carla Mora. Also collaborating was the European INTERACT project (http://www.eu-interact.org/).   COMNAP Member national Antarctic programs provided the information for the infrastructures database for all Antarctic facilities and will continue to provide updates to the information.  Once initial data were collected, COMNAP sent to IGOT the extract of the database related to European Antarctic infrastructures in order to contribute to the European polar infrastructure catalogue.

This project is also related to the Eurofleets project, a Research Infrastructures project under the 7th Framework Programme of the European Commission (http://www.eurofleets.eu), aimed at consolidating the coordination of a pan-European distributed research fleet infrastructure with a common strategic vision and promoting access to European marine research vessels and equipment. With these objectives, Eurofleets II established very recently a European vessel database (http://www.eurofleets.eu/rvs/).

 ​European_Polar_Board_logo.jpg          logo INTERACT.png   EUROFLEETS_LOGO.jpg

​ National Antarctic Programs

Direccion Nacional Del Antartico (DNA)

Australian Antarctic Division (AAD)

National Academy of Sciences

​​ Belgium

Programa Antartico Brasileiro  (PROANTAR)

Bulgarian Antarctic Institute (BAI)​​

Instituto Antartico Chileno (INACH)

Chinese Arctic and Antarctic Administration (CAA) & Polar Research Institute of China (PRIC)

​ Czech Republic
 Masaryk University​

Instituto Antartico Ecuatoriano (INAE)

Finnish Antarctic Research Program at the Finnish Meteorological Institute (FINNARP)

Institut Polaire Francais Paul Emile Victor (IPEV)

Alfred Wegener Institute (AWI)

National Centre for Antarctic & Ocean Research (NCAOR)

Programma Nazionale Di Ricerche in Antartide (PNRA)

National Institute of Polar Research (NIPR)

Republic of Korea
Korean Polar Research Institute (KOPRI)​

The Netherlands
Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO)

New Zealand
Antarctica New Zealand

Norwegian Polar Institute

Division of Antarctic Affairs​

Poland Institute of Biochemistry and Biophysics PAS​

Russian Federation
The Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute (AARI/RAE)

South Africa
South African National Antarctic Programme (SANAP)

Comite Polar Espanol

Swedish Polar Research Secretariat

United Kingdom
British Antarctic Survey (BAS)

National Antarctic Scientific Centre of Ukraine (NASC)

Antartico Uruguayo (IAU)

United States ​
National Science Foundation Office of Polar Programs


National Antarctic Programs
Canada ​
Swiss Committee on Polar and High Altitude Research​
Istanbul Technical University Polar Research Center (PolReC)​
Venezuelan Institute for Scientific Research (IVIC)​