Welcome to the Council of Managers of National Antarctic Programs (COMNAP) website


COMNAP is the international association, formed in 1988, which brings together its Members, who are the National Antarctic Programs. National Antarctic Programs are those organizations that have responsibility for delivering and supporting scientific research in the Antarctic Treaty Area on behalf of their respective governments and in the spirit of the Antarctic Treaty​.

COMNAP’s purpose which can be found in its Constitution is to "develop and promote best practice in managing the support of scientific research in Antarctica". It does this by:

  • Serving as a forum to develop practices that improve effectiveness of activities in an environmentally responsible manner;
  • Facilitating and promoting international partnerships;
  • Providing opportunities and systems for information exchange; and
  • Providing the Antarctic Treaty System with objective and practical, technical and non-political advice drawn from the National Antarctic Programs' pool of expertise.

Download the printable COMNAP brochure.

About our Members

COMNAP consists of 30 National Antarctic Program Members. Each Member program is represented by the Manager of that National Antarctic Program and/or the Deputy Manager of that program. National Antarctic Programs collectively have the greatest first-hand experience of living and working in the Antarctic. Many of the National Antarctic Programs have operated in the Antarctic since the International Geophysical Year (IGY) of 1957/58.

Learn more at Our Members​.

About the COMNAP Executive Committee

The COMNAP Executive Committee (EXCOM) is composed of the elected officers of COMNAP and the Executive Secretary (as an appointed, non-voting member). There is a Chair and up to five Vice Chairs, each with a term of three years. The officers are elected at the Annual General Meetings (AGM).

The COMNAP Executive Committee (EXCOM) elected officers are:

About the COMNAP Secretariat

The headquarters for COMNAP is the COMNAP Secretariat, hosted by the University of Canterbury in Christchurch, New Zealand. The Secretariat is staffed by the Executive Secretary & the Research and Project Development Manager and receives administrative support from Gateway Antarctica. The COMNAP Secretariat had two previous locations: initially at the American Geophysical Union Headquarters, Washington D.C., USA (1989-1997) and then at the State Government of Tasmania Department of Economic Development and Tourism, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia (1997-2009).

Our contact details.

News & Events

Online COMNAP Meeting Schedule 2021

"Townhall Meetings"
7, 8, 13 & 14 April 2021

Expert Groups / Topical Discussion Forums
2, 3, 9 & 10 June 2021

Regional Break-out Groups
12, 13 & 14 July 2021

COMNAP AGM Business (Plenary) Session
14 July 2021

Registration will open on 1 April 2021 and participation is restricted.

Further details will be provided soon to Members and Observers.

Lukin & Miller recipients of the COMNAP Award 2020

The COMNAP Chair, Dr Kelly K Falkner, is pleased to announce that Valery Lukin (formerly MNAP AARI/RAE) and Heinz Miller (formerly MNAP AWI) are the recipients of the COMNAP Award 2020. The recipients have actively worked as part of the Antarctic community in a range of roles for a combined period of over 50 years to date. The Awards are made for outstanding contribution to the COMNAP goal, “To develop and promote best practice in managing the support of scientific research in Antarctica”.

Congratulations Valery & Heinz!

Proceedings of the COMNAP Symposium 2020

The printed version of the Proceedings of the COMNAP Symposium 2020 Antarctic Station Modernisation is now available and copies have been sent to all Members, Observers and Symposium presenters. A PDF version is downloadable here.

View All Events >>

Access practical resources here:

COMNAP COVID-19 Guidance for Members only.
COMNAP Antarctic Station Catalogue.​
Antarctic Roadmap Challenges (ARC) publication.
The COMNAP/SCAR Non-native Species Voluntary Checklists for Supply Chain Managers checklists.
Information on the COMNAP Antarctic Flight Information Manual (AFIM).
Information on the COMNAP Asset Tracking System (CATS).
Rescue Co-ordination Centres (with Antarctic co-ordination responsibility) points of contact.